Taking the Plunge, so to Speak

I’m doing it.  I’m taking the plunge.  I’m attempting to make my own soaker pants to use with flats.  I’m even trying pins!  I will use flannel receiving blankets (which I used all the time, I don’t know what everyone talks about them being useless!), flour sack towels, and the left over prefolds I used as burp cloths.

I decided to try them out after reading all the fabulous blogs of people involved in the Flat and Handwashing Challenge, started by http://dirtydiaperlaundry.com/.  She is my hero.  It’s not about throwbacks, but instead proving that anyone can diaper their baby, even if you have no money to do it with.  More than 400 families are involved now.  It’s amazing.  No, I’m not participating.  I didn’t find it early enough to join in, and I’m not sure I could do a week of hand washing… not to mention, I have no covers yet!

It’s amazing, reading all the blogs of the mom’s involved, though.  They are my heroes, proving that cloth diapering IS a viable option, since there is no government assistance to keep your youngling in diapers.  The flats I’m using, I got at Wal-mart, 5 of them for less than $5.  They are dishtowels!  The pins were 4/$1, and I’m crocheting a cover, (I’m taking a break from it, as I type.)  I’m using a free pattern (found here) I dug off the internet.  It seems big, but I suppose it has to be to properly cover the flat.  I’m using a soaker style to keep busy fingers from undoing velcro (which has become a major problem, especially at night.)  I keep finding Dillon naked in bed in the morning, though thankfully, today at least, he didn’t pee all over the bed.  Thank god for plastic matresses in cribs.

So, cross your fingers for me, and cheer on the families involved in the challenge!


Leave a comment